Skip to content

No, not brave. Just frustrated.

March 19, 2010

Siri suggested in a comment that I was brave. But I am not, just impatient.

The notion of books on demand and e-books is a fabulous way to keep authors’ series in print and avoid the taxes that comes with having books in stock. Imagine! No more shredding of paperbacks or piles of returns. Why isn’t it done? I have no clue. Perhaps someone in the publishing world could weigh in on this? Meanwhile, the cost of going alone has gone way down. So, it is the logical move, particularly for Beyond Sundown, which will likely not have seen the light of day if I did not make this move.

And there is another reason as well. As an author, I KNOW that my book will be published. No more waiting for a contract (though I will continue to submit my work first), no more agonizing about whether a work will earn out its advance.The plusses far outweigh the negatives.

AND, I can state that I am getting no negative feedback and I doubt it will affect my future relationship with Berkley at all. After all, the titles ARE out of print. They aren’t losing money because of this. My publisher may actually gain from this move if they publish a future title of mine. On the other hand, I do feel a bit as if I have gotten divorced.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Jutta permalink

    Hi, Elaine,
    being one of those who would answer “Blood Alone” to the question “Which book would you take to a desert island?”, I am absolutely starved for more, and I am so grateful that you are willing to step into the world of self-publishing! Just tell me where and when…
    All the best
    Jutta

  2. Siiri permalink

    “Why isn’t it done? I have no clue.”
    Probably something to do with money.

Leave a Reply

