Skip to content

Szekorny! Welcome to the Austra Family fansite!

March 12, 2010

In case you were wondering, I do, inded survive.

And I feel like I have been away from my chosen family for too long…and from my fans. Those of you who know me are aware that, like most writers who have the word cult attached to their name, I would starve without other work. Mine is writing intensive. I love it, but it keeps me away from the work I love. No more. Has it really been nearly 7 years since Nocturne? Time is moving far too fast and I do not have luxury of eternity to pursue creative work (damn!). I have waited a long time to see if Beyond Sundown would be published. It doesn’t seem to be happening, so I am going to take matters into my own hands.

This blog will follow my first excursion into the world of self publishing, which I think will be the world of the future for most, if not all, midlist writers. I base my belief on a couple of things.

First, the growth of online bookstores, like Amazon and Barnes and Noble, which both take books published via print on demand.

Second, the growth in e-media, primarily Kindle, which will soon — if not already — be sending books to computers and cell phones as well as to their still overpriced (in my opinion) e-reader. Expect that soon publishers will consider the potential of the future and begin offering specials — buy ten books from Harper Collins and we’ll give you a certificate for $100 off the Kindle, that sort of thing.

Third, the ease with which writers can bypass agents and publishers and do it themselves via both these media — and then promote their work themselves via online social networking. I’ve barely gotten used to Facebook, and tweeted just once (I’m a novelist, it’s just not for me), but I am thinking I can go it alone.

I’ll also be using this site to occasionally send off into the internet ozone some of the unpublished Austra stories that would likely not be seen by fans in any other way. Check back here from time to time to see what’s been added.

So, my first questions for you is, how would you like to first see my books from Glass to Beyond Sundown to those unrelated fantasy novels like Leanna?

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. I love the Austra series and am looking forward to more!

  2. Liz permalink

    I don’t care *how* I see them, I just look forward to seeing them, in whatever form they may take! I’m a long time fan and I’m happy there will be more. 🙂

  3. Angie permalink

    I, too, am impatient for more! I look forward to more stories and books whenever and however you can get them published. I also want to thank you for being dedicated enough to start pursuing your own publishing avenues. I’m definitely looking forward to Beyond Sundown!

  4. Jessica permalink

    I absolutely love your Austra series, although I have never read anything outside your vampire books. I really wish there were a way to buy an ebook, etc, of the past novels- not only are your older books hard to find, but I personally prefer pdf versions. I would be extremely happy if something like that were available for purchase on your website. I genuinely can’t believe with all the vampire craze going on, no one has looked at your stuff! It’s absurd. Maybe you could start a facebook fanclub or something, if you are interested in rousing up publisher interest, or just gaining a larger fanbase? Also, can you self publish those books that have been in print yourself without running into publisher agreement issues? Good luck; szekorny.

  5. Carolyn Hoyt permalink

    I am so glad that a new Austra book has arrived. These books are very different from many vampire sagas I have read & loved. I’m not sure why they are such a standout but very happy to have discovered them. I hope there will be more on Charles as he is my personal favorite.

  6. Camden Woode permalink

    I live in north-eastern Ohio. Went to Milwaukee at the time the Austras were staring their literary view. Turns out Ms. Bergstrom was making an appearance, in a Bookstore, not far away. Actually, gruesomly– if I recall correctly.. It was during the time Jeffrey Dahmer was making his rounds, around Milwaukee.

    I was also born 9 years after the 1950 story time-line. Have all the books in the series.
    Strong, productive interest in Art Glass, then and now, even before Austra stories came out.
    Part of my ancestry is Spaniard.

    Just some off-kilter, possibly rationalized coincidences, LOL.

    Been waiting forever for another Austra Story.
    Periodically venture into bookstores, to look.

    Please, Ms. Bergstrom,..
    c’mon,..
    we’re waiting.

Leave a Reply

